The Audience is Always Right

Excellent presentation by TBWA which discusses their approach to marketing and advertising, “an approach that shifts communication from brand-centric to audience-centric thinking“.

I have become very interested in user-centered design practices and strongly believe that humans need to be at the center of all marketing and all new product and service design and delivery. It’s seriously the way forward and I firmly believe that organisations that incorporate user-centered design methodologies, and invest time and budget in user experience design, research and well considered planning will be in a better position to create products and services that provide better value for consumers and subsequently better ROI value for businesses.

I have thought a lot about what lies at the core of what I want to do with my life and work and I would really like to make people’s lives better through my work and ultimately help influence off-line behaviour in ways that bring good to the world through the internet. Wow…how’s that for an elevator pitch….

If you have read through my blog you will know that I am also very interested in how people use the internet to express their innate humanness and be more human. Activism has been something that I tend to discuss quite a lot, however I really feel that my focus is shifting more towards reflecting upon how I can better consider humans and human-ness when creating online services and products that affect behaviour. Affecting behaviour is what I do as a digital marketer and what I would like to do as a citizen of the earth.

As Aristotle states:
“If communication is to change behaviour it must be grounded in the desires and interests of the receivers”

(I wonder is Aristotle would have even considered what “communication” would come to encompass!)

I have started a new blog as well where I hope to document my exploration of my interest in design thinking, human-centered design practice and related topics at http://uxthink.wordpress.com

Anyway, enough about me……and a few more nods of agreement with this preso by Michael Zorn of TBWA Berlin.

The presentation amongst other things touches upon the importance of the need for marketers and advertisers to provide value for consumers and the need to put the needs of people at the fore-front of activity in order to build trust and a platform for engagement for a brand. It discusses the need to consider context, contact and content, the need to consider and create multiple tribes, and the need for media arts and the theory of disruption.

Read it…it’s good.

Leave a comment