Cause Marketing

Just read an excellent post on Cause Marketing by Marta Kagen on her bonafide marketing genius blog called “Good is the new black. Get dressed”.

I recently had a conversation with an MD at a digital marketing company recently about this very subject.

It was actually a job interview, and I was asked something to the effect of what sites impress you on the web.It was the same day that I posted about the Girl Effect site by the Nike Foundation and I went on to this guy about how the digital channel enables us to do good in the world.

(Hmm NB having just returned from a 2 month backpacking holiday wasn’t aiding my sense of  economics. Luckily I didn’t go on about how the web has given us a platform that enables us to be more human…see Humans Marketing and the Web Talk here)

He kind of looked at me strangely, saying that digital marketing is about making people who are in debt get more in debt, and if all I wanted to do was do good in the world, working in an advertising agency would probably be a place that would make me feel like slitting my wrists before work each morning!

But I disagree! Apart from digital advertising being fun, I get to make people laugh, smile, and play online. I get to engage with them, play with them, emote them, and hopefully get them to experience something memorable and talk-worthy and connect with a brand…who funds the play.

If brands engaged in more cause marketing campaigns – everyone would be happy.

Corporates – people getting the cause aid – agency working folk – client side staff – and consumers.

So, anyway I am digressing.

I just wanted to point to this blog post which talks about how marketers should be getting involved with cause marketing.

ie. Wikipedia definition:

“Cause marketing or cause-related marketing refers to a type of marketing involving the cooperative efforts of a “for profit” business and a non-profit organization for mutual benefit. “

The stats in this blog post are very persuasive too.

  • Somewhere between 83% & 91% of Americans (in other words, just about everyone!) say that companies have a responsibility to help support causes.
  • 92% have a more positive image of a company that supports a cause they care about.
  • 87% are likely to switch from one product to another (price and quality being equal) if the other product is associated with a good cause
  • 72% of Americans have purchased a particular brand because they know that brand supports a cause they believe in.”

Lets face it these days there is often not so much differentiation between products and services, and alliance with a cause could do wonders for your brand. Brands can help people fulfill their self-narratives and when their alliance with your brand can make them feel good about themselves and their consumer activities…bingo…ching ching….everyone smiles 🙂

She outlines some do’s and don’ts for Cause Marketing in her post.

Happy reading….

Like what you’ve read? Stumble it!

7 Comments »

  1. Jacqueline,
    Thanks for sharing my post! I do believe there is a largely untapped opportunity for companies to be good corporate citizens—and through that effort, to benefit ALL: their customers, employees, shareholders, neighbors… At the risk of getting all touchy-feely and blowing my acrid-tongue Genius image, I’ll say this: We’re all interconnected. We’re all ONE. More simply put, it’s a bad idea to poop where you eat.

    That probably makes no sense at all, but… all I’m trying to say is that it’s not a bad idea to do good. Hopefully, we’ll see more of that (not less) in the coming years.

  2. […] recently written a post on cause marketing I thought I would mention the new “Face the Task” campaign from […]

  3. […] back to my rants on “cause marketing” I think these comments could be indicative of those of power brokers in large […]

  4. […] activism, marketing, user generated content ·Tagged cause marketing A example of what I call cause marketing….and seem to be ranting a lot about these […]

  5. […] the benefits of cause marketing for brands. You can find some more ranting about cause marketing here, and some other examples of campaigns here: Nokia’s  N96 Campaign and Ben and Jerry’s […]

  6. sandrar said

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

  7. Palak said

    Wonderful post.I would just reiterate that the key to a successful cause-marketing partnership is finding a cause whose mission is compatible with yours and cultivating an authentic,mutual relationship.It is also essential that the partner we choose:
    Is friendly to your business mission.
    Aligned with your values
    Able to reach the markets you want to reach
    If they don’t fit these guidelines,we should not try”work something out” as it would lead to failure of our mission.
    And the thing to remember,Cooperation for mutual gain and for the good of the world is the guiding principle behind cause marketing.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

